Hello to all members, passers-by, curious onlookers, and shy lurkers, and welcome to our regular daily check-in post. Just leave a comment below to let us know how your current projects are progressing, or even if they're not.
Checking in is NOT compulsory, check in as often or as seldom as you want, this community isn't about pressure it's about encouragement, motivation, and support. Crafting is meant to be fun, and what's more fun than sharing achievements and seeing the wonderful things everyone else is creating?
There may also occasionally be questions, but again you don't have to answer them, they're just a way of getting to know each other a bit better.
This Week's Question: Have you ever made a Valentine gift or card?
If anyone has any questions of their own about the community, or suggestions for tags, questions to be asked on the check-in posts, or if anyone is interested in playing check-in host for a week here on the community, which would entail putting up the daily check-in posts and responding to comments, go to the Questions & Suggestions post and leave a comment.
I now declare this Check-In OPEN!
Tags:
no subject
no subject
Aside from the mistake (can you correct it or will you have to undo a big chunk?) you've made good progress, though.
no subject
When my sister used to try to knit, she never had the same number of stitches in two consecutive rows. Stitches appeared and disappeared at random, so you did better than my sister.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
At least you only had to undo part of a row.
no subject
Yes, could have been worse.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I made paper valentine's day cards when I was younger, especially when I taught pre-school and elementary aged kids.
no subject
no subject
no subject
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60_CPBFAwME
no subject
no subject
I think handmade Valentine cards are always that little bit extra special, more so when made by kids.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Sounds like you have plenty of things to work on.
no subject
no subject
no subject
I have many ongoing craft things, but I don't want this to be a book. The latest thing I worked on was project 8 for the sketchbook. It came out on YouTube yesterday and I managed it last night. It was supposed to be a wet on wet watercolor still life of an overflowing bowl of cherries. I chose instead to do wet on dry, because my paper tolerates it better and my cherries are getting poured out of the bowl. The bowl is a "3D"element. (You paint a messy dark area of a piece of computer paper and once it's dry, you cut out a bowl shape and glue it to the cherry painting at the very end). You also draw outlines and details on the cherries with a medium of your choice. I used colored pencils.
I'm housesitting again at the house with the spoiled dog and the chickens again. There are 9 now. I think there were only 8 last time? It's a bit of a shame. I'm spending 12 days (counting the 4 I've been here) in a place with 24/7 TV to knit by and I doubt I will be able to find any time to knit.
no subject
That sounds a fascinating project, if a bit messy, I hope it turns out well.
Have fun with the dog and chickens. Shame about not finding time to knit though. The dog and chickens must keep you busy.
no subject
Thanks. I think my little red blobs turned out sufficiently cherry looking. :)
Thanks. It's a lot of little tasks all day long. The dog requires a lot of attention. The day starts early (when I am naturally a night owl). So there are weird pockets of downtime, I'm usually exhausted and they aren't really long enough for me to do much. (Despite my complaints here, it really is a decent housesitting gig.)
no subject
Yay for cherry-like blobs!
no subject
Thanks! (My mother keeps insisting they are fat hearts -_-)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject